CME 2017


Sri Lanka Medical Association of North America
Dr. Lal Samarasinghe Memorial
Scientific Symposium

Edison Ballroom
240 W 47th Street
New York, NY. 10036
November 11th, 2017
8 am – 1 pm

The 2017 SLMANA Scientific session will provide an exciting glimpse of what lies ahead in the field of medicine.

Program Agenda
8:00 am – 8:45 am Registration and Breakfast
Moderator: Rohan Perera, M.B.,B.S, MRCP (UK), FACC.
8.45 am Welcome Remarks by SLMANA President: Darshi Sunderam MD
9.00 am Sanjay Fernando MD – Kidney Failure in the Villages of Sri Lanka
9.20 am Key Note Address – Mahen Wijesuriya MD (Cey),FRCP(Lond)FCCP(Cey). Video Conference from Sri Lanka – Type I Diabetes in Sri Lanka: An Overview
9.50 am Surani Fernando MD, FACE. –  New Treatment Paradigm For Type 2 Diabetes
10.10 am Darshi Sunderam, MD – T2DM and CVD: Has the Dawn of a New Era Arrived?
10:30 – 11:00 am Coffee Break, Visit Exhibits Booths
11.00 am Rushika Conroy MD, MS – Latest in Type 1 Diabetes Treatment- the Artificial Pancreas
11.20 am Chandran Rajaratnam MD – Aging and Dementia
11.40 am Tara Bishop MD – New Models of Payment: Past, Present, and Future
12:00 – 12:30 pm Q&A
12:30 –
1:00 pm
SLMANA EASTERN REGION INC – Annual General Meeting

Scientific Symposium Committee Members

Rohan Perera M.B.B.S, MRCP (UK), FACC. (Chair)
Selvarani Richards MD (Co-Chair)
Daya Nadarajah MD
Darshi Sunderam, MD
Vaithi Segeram MD, FACP


Darshi Sunderam, MD
Chief of Endocrinology
East Orange General Hospital, East Orange, NJ
Consultant Endocrinologist
Greystone Park Psychiatric Hospital, Greystone Park, NJ


Rushika Conroy MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Pediatric Endocrinology and Weight Management
Baystate Children’s Hospital ,Springfield MA 01199


Surani Fernando MD,FACE.
Endocrinologist, Endocrine Associates of CT, Hamden, CT.
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine, Frank Netter School of Medicine


Chandran Rajaratnam MD
Acting Medical Director and Psychiatrist
Rockland Psychiatric Center New York.
Preceptor and Site Coordinator of the Columbia University, New York State Geriatric Psychiatric
Fellowship Program at Rockland Psychiatric Center

Tara Bishop MD
Medical Director
McKinsey & Company, New York, NY
Associate Professor of Healthcare Policy and Research and Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY


Mahen Wijesuriya MD (Cey), FRCP(Lond), FCCP (Cey)
Hon. Sec. Diabetes Association of Sri Lanka
Hon. Director National Diabetes care
Executive Director NCD Alliance Sri Lanka
Co-founder Diabetes Association of Sri Lank |


Sanjay Fernando MD
Medical Director
ARA Herald Square Dialysis Center, New Britain, CT
Nephrologist,Starling Physicians, New Britain, CT

The Committee thanks the following Vendors for their support of our Scientific Program

  1. Amarin Pharma Inc
  2. AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
  3. Astellas Pharma
  4. Boehringer Ingelheim
  5. Eli Lilly and Company
  6. Janssen Pharmaceutical
  7. Kowa Pharmaceuticals
  8. Merck
  9. Novo Nordisk Inc
  10. Sanofi-Aventis